Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles might be my favorite cookie. I love the soft, buttery cookie taste mixed with cinnamon and sugar. But I must admit, I love everything with cinnamon sugar on it. This simple drop cookie is sure to become one of your favorites.

Ingredients:

0.25 cup sugar
1 T ground cinnamon
1.25 cups sugar
0.5 cup shortening
0.5 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
2.75 cups flour
2 t cream of tartar
1 t baking soda
0.25 t salt

Preheat oven to 400. In a small bowl, combine the 0.25 cup of sugar and 1T of cinnamon and set aside. In a different mixing bowl, combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt and set aside. In a stand mixer, cream the shortening and butter. Then add in the sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Then, slowly incorporate the dry ingredients.

IMG_2304

Roll the dough into 1.25in balls then roll into your cinnamon sugar mixture.

 

IMG_2306

Place on the cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Gently flatten the dough just slightly.

 

IMG_2309

Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes.

 

IMG_2313

The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie

The smell of fresh baked chocolate chips cookies just screams “welcome home” to me. Eating a cookie straight out of the oven with the chocolate melting is pure comfort, especially after a long day. I make this recipe so often it is like second nature to me. In high school, I would take these cookies to my leadership class when we needed a mid semester pick-me-up and all my friends got big bags of cookies for their birthdays. I secretly enjoy eating half the cookie dough before I even place the cookies in the oven. The recipe is super easy, but the key is to use pure vanilla and not artificial. Also, I am partial to using milk chocolate chips, but use your favorite.

Ingredients:

IMG_2316

1.5 cups butter, softened (3 sticks)
1.25 cups sugar
1.25 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 T vanilla
4 cups flour
2 t baking soda
0.5 t salt
2 cups chocolate chip

Preheat oven to 350. Begin by beating the butter in a stand mixer. Cream in both the sugar and the brown sugar. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients. To the butter mixture, add in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla and cream until light and fluffy. When the mixture is ready, slowly add in the dry ingredients. Then, mix in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

IMG_2327IMG_2322

Scoop dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper using an ice cream scoop.

IMG_2329

Bake in the oven 15-17 minutes until light brown. When you remove them from the oven, allow them to continue to cool on the cookie sheet.

IMG_2333 IMG_2339

**If you are a peanut butter lover, try substituting the chocolate chips with peanut butter chips  then dip the cookies in melted milk chocolate.